Emotions, glamour and, of course, music: this is the Soundtrack Stars, the Venice Film Festival Collateral Award that evaluate the best soundtrack among the Official Selection movies, also delivering the critics’ award to internationally renowned artists such as Ennio Morricone, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Alexandre Desplat, Nicola Piovani, Gabriele Muccino and, in 2017, Andrea Guerra.

Over the years, the jury has  involved prominent personalities of film and music industry, including Giuliano Montaldo, Cesare Cremonini, Cristiana Capotondi, Lele Marchitelli, Malika Ayane and Paola Turci, as well as journalists and critics such as Prof. Giovanni Canova, SGCI President Laura Delli Colli and journalist Gino Castaldo. The Soundtrack Stars Award is designed and produced by Free Event in collaboration with SNGCI.


Laura Delli Colli (SGNCI)
Presidente di Giuria
Violante Placido
Paola Turci
Manola Moslehi
(Radio Italia)
Alessandra Vitali
(La Repubblica)
Marina Sanna
(Il Cinematografo)
Stefania Ulivi
(Corriere della Sera)
Antonella Nesi
(Adn Kronos)


Venice 74 focused on music as never before, in a truly memorable edition. It was quite a hard task to choose the best soundtrack, but in the end the jury acknowledged Alexandre Desplat great work of composition for The shape of water, directed by Guillermo Del Toro. Special Prize to Ammore e malavita, directed by Manetti Bros, with the music of Pivio and Aldo de Scalzi. The jury delivered also the Critics’ Award to a great master of music composition, Andrea Guerra, who in his career has been working for great directors such as Ferzan Ozpetek, Roberto Faenza and Giuseppe Bertolucci.

In the previous editions, the Critics’ award was delivered to other great masters of musical composition and special director such as Gabriele Muccino (2016), Nicola Piovani (2015), Alexandre Desplat (2014), Ryuichi Sakamoto (2013) and Ennio Morricone (2012).

Andrea Guerra (2017)

Gabriele Muccino (2016)

Nicola Piovani (2015)

Alexandre Desplat (2014)

Ryuichi Sakamoto (2013)

Ennio Morricone (2012)

With the contribution of:

Sponsored by:

Media partner:

Supporting partners: